March movie madness…(the continuing adventures of what I watched / read in 2015)

Not madness as such – in fact only three films, and only those because I was stuck on aeroplanes, but anyway – here they are:

Nightcrawler

Brilliant, creepy, horrible – not the right film to watch before going to a secluded hill top house in LA to stay on your own (especially when you’re naturally pre-dispositioned to imagine you’ll be murdered in your bed every night.)  Gyllenhaal is mesmerisingly sociopathic, and the script is terrific – dark, twisty and original.

This Is Where I Leave You

Urgh.  I so wanted to love this film as I love most of the actors in it (Tina Fey, Jason Bateman, Kathryn Hahn from Transparent, the hot dude who plays Russo in House of Cards, Jane Fonda -star of Jane Fonda’s Workout my most-watched VHS of the 80s aside from Caddyshack) but it was very, very meh.  Maybe the book is better, anyone?

Wild

Oh but I love Reese Witherspoon.  A great, super-simple, moving story – which will make me read the book.  In fact it made me want to do the 100 day hike – in the right shoes though, so my toe nails don’t fall out (plot spoiler / not really – it happens in the first sixty seconds.)

I also went to see Antigone with Juliet Binoche at The Barbican – probably the worst play I’ve seen in ten years, let’s just leave it at that.

And I’ve started reading Anne Tyler’s A Spool of Blue Thread, and wish I could spend every waking minute with it.

February culture

https://stellanewmansblog.wordpress.com/2015/03/03/february-input/

January culture

https://stellanewmansblog.wordpress.com/2015/01/

One thought on “March movie madness…(the continuing adventures of what I watched / read in 2015)

Leave a Reply

